weather c
airing now
airing now
8.85 c
airing now
91.5 FM
91.5 HD2

Elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats on June 10

BY ANI, May 12, 2022 12:02 PM - REPORT AN ERROR

The Election Commission of India on Thursday announced that polls for 57 Rajya Sabha seats spread across 15 states will take place on June 10. There are 2 seats are going to vaccant in punjab. Earlier, five seats that fell vacant from Punjab were bagged by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) after a landslide victory in the state Assembly elections.

The biggest share of seats for the Upper House of Parliament comes from Uttar Pradesh where 11 seats will go for election. Out of 11 seats from Uttar Pradesh, the ruling BJP which is in power in the state, as well as at the Centre, is likely to get seven seats and Samajwadi Party may claim the remaining four seats. With the retirement of Satish Chandra Mishra, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) will have just one Member of Parliament in the Upper house.

Among those members who are retiring but will return to the Rajya Sabha are Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, who was elected from Karnataka, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi from Jharkhand and Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha Piyush Goyal from Maharashtra.

Out of 245 seats in the Rajya Sabha, the BJP is the biggest party with 95 members, followed by Congress with 29 seats.

Latest News

Share on

Sign up for the newsletter

We'll deliver best of entertainment right into your inbox
We love to hear from our listeners, so feel free to send us message
whatsUp icon
Message us on whatsapp